When $95k isn’t enough…

I just tossed my Who Framed Roger Rabbit? VHS since I just got my Vista series (used) DVD ($10 bucks- bargain!).

Christmas ’89 was the last and best Christmas we had. Mom, Dad, and me stayed up ’til about 1 a.m. playing my brand new Scrabble game and watching two movies that had come out on VHS, Batman and the one just mentioned. The DVDs are impressive (SE box set for the Batman flicks) and I can’t wait to see the unrated WFRR (I only read the deleted scenes in my grade school adapted novel), but I really wanted to hang onto the tapes. For sentimental reasons.

Like a true hoarder.

My great-aunt’s house was just sold for $1,150,000. My Godfather (her nephew) bitched that he could’ve gotten more for it. I guess he doesn’t read the newspaper or watch the news or, y’know, go outside and talk to someone. Now there are 12 nieces and nephews in the will so they will each get $95k and some change- the look on my grandmother’s face said how she really felt about her cut (not to mention she got all of her aunt’s savings- so putting that with her savings, investments, miscellaneous assets, and how much our house is worth, I’d say a bit over $2 million).

I remember one of the last arguments my brother and grandma got into over the heat (we haven’t gotten any since late ’91) and he said, “If we paid you $3,000 rent would you give us heat?” She said it still wasn’t enough. I was brought up to revere the elderly, and I do. But there comes a point that they have no right to cross. We’re dependent on grandma because of what Dad did (and we never forget it because she reminds us almost daily) as well as uncontrollable economic forces that are set up to knock down and keep down the poor and now the middle class. So when we’re forced to use her credit card to purchase clothes, bed sheets, curtains, vitamins, etc. we can’t afford (along with extras including my brother’s PC sound system, flat screen, Star Trek: TNG boxed set, ps3, my psp, my DS Lite, my Wii, tons of DVDs, books, jewelry, and now my DSi) a $1k or $1,500 dollar bill shouldn’t bother her.

But it does.

It does so much that when we’re forced to use the washing machine by my great-grandmother house (which is now owned by Mom’s POS brother) because we can’t afford to buy our own (like we used to) she intends to make life difficult for us.

The woman is a hoarder- she hoards her mother’s house forcing her asshole son to buy it, and he does. And has no intention on fixing it up to rent out the apartments (he can’t talk to people- especially women). So it’s falling apart. No matter, when her aunt dies she hoards her kitchen ware, knick knacks, and some furniture in the house like a museum. My great-aunt left me her jewelry (which grandma wanted) but took a gold and diamond chip rose bangle that I loved, and my Godmother took her black and white cameo when the box came into my grandmother’s possession when she started to get sick. I, luckily, retained everything else- including my great-uncle’s emerald ring which I wear.

So now every time we do the laundry we wade through the crap and deal with it. We also make sure we replace the detergent, softener, and bleach since we wash the most. What we don’t do are other people’s laundry and cleaning. It’s not our house, nor our clothes, hence not our problem. What we were willing to do was put a recycling bag in the closet to collect the empty detergent bottles in and bring them up the block to our garbage cans since the asshole refuses to put out trash cans, and grandma doesn’t want trash bags sitting in front of the house (if you could see the logic, let me know).

The first time we did it, it went without a hitch. The second time everything seemed cool, then the bag vanished. I thought the asshole used it since he was starting to build a tool bench down in the basement. I let it go, and just put up another one (our recycling bags BTW). The second time it vanished that’s when I got pissed. The asshole had long abandoned his tool chest (boxes upon boxes of unopened parts have been laying around for nearly two years) so I knew grandma was taking the bags away. Okay, now you get fucked over.

So I instructed Mom and my brother to let the empty bottles to pile up on the little shelf beside the washer if the woman wants to play that game. And until recently it we did just that. So last week she comes up blustering about the inside hallway door being open. Now as I mentioned, the asshole refuses to fix up the house so the inside hallway door is made of 60-year-old wood and glass. If you slam it, it can break. If you don’t pull it closed where you could hear the lock engage, it will pop open. Now my brother and I will own up to the fact that, yes, we’ve committed this capital offense a few times. But in our defense if you’re lugging out huge piles of laundry and have to struggle with a crappy 50-odd-year-old glass and metal storm door and a crazy-ass impossible to lock/unlock front door, the last thing on you’re mind is checking to see if the inside door is securely shut.

But here’s a funny thing, we have found the inside door, basement door, and front door unlocked and/or open many times by both grandma and the asshole. In fact grandma is real Evel Knievel, she thinks that it’s perfectly okay to keep the front door unlocked…

Take that in for a minute.

Yeah.

So the next time she comes up screaming as why I’m not out of school yet, or why my brother isn’t in school at all, and why Mom might lose her job because the incoming department director is a dickhead and the NYS budget cuts will include the slashing of temps in health care and the hospital being shut down in 2013, she might want to consider forking over that $95k to pay for a lawyer to get our debts settled so we can have bank accounts again. Because $95k can go a long way if your vision wasn’t so short.

P.S. The storm door’s lower glass pane just split because of the cold and wind, and all the asshole has done was put a little masking tape over it.

Leave a Reply

